News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

uber beginner seeks advice

Started by funky see, June 26, 2013, 01:06:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

funky see

hey, i'm building my first pedal, it's the Bumblebee with the road rage side car. I ordered almost all of my parts from pedal parts plus but could not find some of the caps- 100n, 4u7, and 1n.. also seeking a 3k3 resistor and an NKT213. I am an absolute beginner so go easy on me.

???

nick

midwayfair

You aren't likely to find any NKT213s. As noted in the build doc, they're very rare now and there's really not any sense in paying what they would cost you anyway. Smallbear Electronics sells a matched 3-transistor PNP germanium set appropriate for the Buzzaround. You could also probably get a matched set of three transistors from Chromosphere - he just posted a web store. They'll be designated as a "Tonebender" set, but it works just as well.

The capacitors you mentioned are extremely common values, in fact 100nF is THE most commonly used value of capacitor in stompboxes. If you're getting the transistors from Smallbear, you could get them there to avoid shipping from multiple suppliers. Otherwise, every online retailer will carry them -- Tayda, Pedal Parts Plus, Mouser, etc. etc. etc.

p.s. mods, this should probably be moved to "beginner's paradise" or tech help.

DutchMF

I could help you out with all that stuff, except the NKT213's, but you might want to look a bit harder or try another source, like Tayda.com. The values you are seeking aren't that weird, so the usual suspects (Tayda, Mouser, Smallbear) should carry them. Good luck on the parts hunt, and if you have any more questions, do ask!!!

Paul
"If you can't stand the heat, stay away from the soldering iron!"

funky see

funky see