News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Transistors and IC´s suggestion

Started by Gledison, July 16, 2013, 06:09:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gledison

Hey mates.
I´ve got some 2N3904 and im wondering if i could substitute for most NPN transistors. In a Fuzz face Breadboard scheme from beavisaudio, a BC109 is suggested.
Could you recomend the most used Trannys as well the most used IC´s ? I want to have some in stock!
thanks in advance!
If i fart a lot,  it means that i'm a Gas expert ?

Vallhagen

TL072 and TL074 seems to show up in Everything i build.

2N5457, J201 and BS170 is my "stock FETs".

There are more of course, others may continue the list:)

... and no, these^^ have nothing to do with the fuzzface... but i think i got your question right:)

Cheers
Yes i still have Blüe Monster pcb-s for sale!

...and checkout: https://moodysounds.se/

RobA

You can use the 2N3904 for pretty much any small signal NPN position. That doesn't mean that you are going to like how it sounds there though, but then again, maybe you will. Go look at any thread on transistors for Big Muffs and you'll get the idea. Some circuits sound better with certain transistors and some sound better with others. Much of it is up to your ears and you just have to try them out. Typical NPN BJT's are 2N3904, 2N5088, BC549C, BC550C, BC107, BC108, BC109, and 2N2222 (although the 2N2222 is a bit different). The 2N3904 tends to get used in utility settings, switching, LFO buffers, etc.

OP Amps are even more varied than transistors. So many different uses and types, Audio, single supply, rail-to-rail, FET input, BJT input, etc. Sometimes you can sub in pretty much anything, and sometimes the circuit depends on some specific characteristics of a family of op amps.
Affiliations: Music Unfolding (musicunfolding.com), software based effects and Rock•it Frog (rock.it-frog.com), DIY effects (coming soon).

Gledison

atreidesheir

Technically we are all half-centaur. - Nick Offerman