News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Book Recommendation?

Started by CaptainVictory, February 08, 2011, 03:33:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

CaptainVictory

Hey all, I'm an apprentice project builder and brand new to the forum.  I enjoy building pedals that others have concocted, but eventually I want to be able to design my own.  In that spirit, I'm looking for a good beginners or "dummies style" book that will give me a better understanding of what the various components do.  I have a basic understanding of how things work, but I want to crank up my understanding of the theory behind it all.

The ultimate goal is to be able to come up with an idea in my head -- for example, "I want an LFO that sweeps a filter" -- and then be able to figure out how to do it.

Any recommendations?

THANKS.

PS -- Although I've only built a few pedals, I'm a quick study.  For example, I taught myself how to build guitars and have built around 10 so far.  Here's a video of a couple I recently built ... enjoy:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GLPfQydjYLs
--Rob

Admit nothing.  Deny everything.  Make counter-allegations.

jkokura

I think RG Keen's book is what you're looking for.

Jacob
JMK Pedals - Custom Pedal Creations
JMK PCBs *New Website*
pedal company - youtube - facebook - Used Pedals

nzCdog

I am reasonably new to electronics and building pedals, but I learned a LOT from Brian Wampler's book "How to build effect pedals"  Great and comprehensive guide to the meat and veges of pedal building.  He has 2 other books as well for the more advanced.

http://www.indy-guitarist.com/diy
If your gonna buy one make sure you sign up for the discount here first
http://www.indyguitarist.com/free/

gtr2

Quote from: nzCdog on February 08, 2011, 08:04:25 AM