News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

What to Start with??

Started by StratJunior, February 09, 2011, 08:13:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

StratJunior

Hi,

An DIY effects noob here, and I really want to start building some of my own pedals,
how would you guys recommend I start?  ???

A Kit? (GGG, BYOC) ?
or
Is any Noob-rated project fine.

edit: I have soldering experience and have been practicing reading schematics......

maysink

Hello! A kit from the places you mention will get you everything: drilled enclosure, PCB, instructions and necessary parts. All you have to do is assemble it and decorate/label the enclosure to taste.

Madbean just sells the circuit boards leaving you to source all the parts, find + drill an enclosure and assemble it all.

Good soldering skills are a must regardless which avenue you take and reading schematics will help if everything does not go right.

Lastly, BYOC & Madbean both have superb forums. I don't believe GGG has any kind of support forum...
[nothing to see here]
-e

StratJunior

Hey, thanks for the reply,
Now looking back my how I phrased my question was kinda stupid... :P
I get the difference between MadBean and the Kit Sites, I was just wondering wether it would be easier for a beginner to have all the pieces there, how hard is it to find all the parts on Small Bear/Mouser etc...??

And is any "noob" project fine, obviously some have more components to deal with and hunt down.....

Haberdasher

I built my first pedal right here.  If I can do it, you probably can too- but a kit would be a lot easier and you wouldn't have to worry about drilling the enclosure (although you can order them pre-drilled).
There are some pretty simple fuzz circuits as well as overdrive circuits too.  If you're looking for a compressor the cupcake is nice.  What kind of effect would you like to build?