Author Topic: How to build and Use a Basic Testing Rig  (Read 39618 times)

gtr2

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 4591
  • Josh
    • View Profile
    • 1776 effects
Re: How to build and Use a Basic Testing Rig
« Reply #105 on: January 08, 2015, 01:13:22 PM »
Yep, that would work.

morkmango

  • Diode Destroyer
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: How to build and Use a Basic Testing Rig
« Reply #106 on: January 09, 2015, 01:04:17 AM »
Hey, I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction here--I've been using one of these basic rigs for more than a year now. However, for the first time I've tried hooking a PNP fuzz up to it, and one powered by a battery no less. Can someone tell me what would be the right way to do this? I had gone with the reversed power and ground leads method before. It worked but the circuit didn't sound its best. So now, I have only the in and out leads from the box attached and have the battery taking care of power and ground duties. Is that incorrect? I'm only getting clean signal through. As this won't be the last PNP fuzz I build, I thought it'd be good to nail down a good methodology now.

I didn't see anyone respond to this... I am in the same situation. I built the testing rig... but need to use it for a PNP effect (the Bumblebee).... problem is, I forgot about this and went ahead trying test it with the rig anyway... hope I did not mess anything up!

All I got was a somewhat dirty signal.


jkokura

  • Global Moderator
  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 7326
  • Jacob - SK, Canada
    • View Profile
    • JMK PCBs
Re: How to build and Use a Basic Testing Rig
« Reply #107 on: February 17, 2015, 10:01:53 PM »
Depending on what circuit it was, if it uses -9V power you could essentially swap the power and ground from the testing rig. Otherwise, I would recommend hooking your effect up to a 9V battery instead of the testing rig.

Jacob
JMK Pedals - Custom Pedal Creations
JMK PCBs *New Website*
pedal company - youtube - facebook - Used Pedals

CodeMonk

  • Diode Destroyer
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Personal Text Goes Here
    • View Profile
Re: How to build and Use a Basic Testing Rig
« Reply #108 on: April 17, 2015, 09:53:17 PM »
This is a very simple, basic "Bypass Box" I built 5 or 6 years ago:
Alligator clips for Input, Output, +V, Ground, with an LED and a bypass switch.
Easy to go from guitar > bypass box - breadboard > amp.





From this picture you should be able to see that the alligator clips are soldered onto a board I etched with 4 straight and wide traces.
2 screws, some solder, and a lot of hot glue hold it all together.




And now I can't seem to find my "Audio Probe 2.0" I built a few days ago  >:(
Did find the crappy "Audio Probe 1.0" I built awhile back though.
And I have a board I need to trace tonight  :(
« Last Edit: April 17, 2015, 09:55:57 PM by CodeMonk »
My friends call me Rob

Affiliations :
Dalton Jones Electronics: Chief Tinkerer (Temporarily on hold)
SmallBear Electronics

alanp

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 4271
    • View Profile
Re: How to build and Use a Basic Testing Rig
« Reply #109 on: April 17, 2015, 10:27:14 PM »
Those look like morse code tapping switch things :)
"Hot water, good dentishtry and shoft lavatory paper."
- Cohen the Barbarian, on what is greatest in life
My OSHpark shared projects

lincolnic

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 2267
    • View Profile
Re: How to build and Use a Basic Testing Rig
« Reply #110 on: April 18, 2015, 10:22:11 PM »
Protip: when testing a new circuit for the first time, make sure you turn up its volume knob before freaking out about not getting any sound.

davent

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1902
  • Hamilton ON
    • View Profile
Re: How to build and Use a Basic Testing Rig
« Reply #111 on: April 19, 2015, 01:41:21 PM »
Protip: when testing a new circuit for the first time, make sure you turn up its volume knob before freaking out about not getting any sound.

Turn  the effect knob up but turn your amp all the way down so there's no ear splitting surprises, then crack the amp open a bit.
dave
« Last Edit: March 29, 2017, 10:20:23 PM by davent »
"If you always do what you always did- you always get what you always got." - Unknown

If my photos are missing again... they're hosted by photobucket... and as of 06/2017 being held hostage... to be continued?

cdevor88

  • Diode Destroyer
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: How to build and Use a Basic Testing Rig
« Reply #112 on: February 19, 2016, 06:02:21 AM »
Sorry for the bump on this ancient thread, but does someone have the pictures that were uploaded in the first post?  They aren't there anymore.

lego4040

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 212
    • View Profile
Re: How to build and Use a Basic Testing Rig
« Reply #113 on: March 29, 2017, 09:12:21 PM »
I know this is a old thread but I want to build this, the pics no longer show up and I have a question. Ill make a enclosure like i'm making a pedal, The in/out jacks will be grounded to the enclosure like normal via the sleeve. I am to solder the negative of DC jacks sleeve solder lug and then a grounding alligator wire there as well. That will be used to ground pcb board. I have almost everything and a small LCD meter panel coming

jkokura

  • Global Moderator
  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 7326
  • Jacob - SK, Canada
    • View Profile
    • JMK PCBs
Re: How to build and Use a Basic Testing Rig
« Reply #114 on: April 02, 2017, 10:10:32 AM »
All the grounds have to be connected in some way. If you wire your DC to the board, and a ground wire to one of the jacks from the PCB, that will mean that the DC and PCB are grounded to the enclosure. If your jacks ground via contact that is. If you have isolated jacks you'll have to find an alternate way.

Hopefully that makes sense. PM me or email me if you have more questions.

Jacob
JMK Pedals - Custom Pedal Creations
JMK PCBs *New Website*
pedal company - youtube - facebook - Used Pedals

lego4040

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 212
    • View Profile
Re: How to build and Use a Basic Testing Rig
« Reply #115 on: May 04, 2017, 04:38:32 PM »
I got it up and running and its so much easy. I added a LED Voltage display to display what I'm sending to pcb after the "Beavis Dying battery simulator" Using a B10K pot I can vary whats coming out of the wall wart.