News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Rump Roast Treble

Started by jcuempire, February 23, 2011, 01:25:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jcuempire

I love my new Rump Roast but it's got gobs of high end.  Is there a place I should start messing about with different values?  I am still learning so it would be a lot stabbing in the dark.  But it's a great boost / overdrive (I built the hybrid) excepting the treble bit.  Thanks

madbean

Yes, increase C5. The doc indicates 680pF. Try 4n7 or 6n8.

jcuempire

jcuempire

I made the change and it did help, but it's still pretty bright.  I assume I may have another problem.  Question, though.  Is the Tone control supposed to work like a RAT filter (bright fully counter clockwise - 8 o'clock)?  If not I have it wired backwards or something.  Also, it seems to only have any effect at the last 10% of the pot travel.  The other 90% is just bright.

On the other hand, putting it ahead of my fuzz face is great.  It's a preamp section that controls the distortion.  And the FF plays nicely with it.  There are other pedals that really don't.

Anyway...

Thanks

Keith

igore42

Keith,

I'm a noob myself but I wonder if you have linear taper pot instead of a logarithmic taper pot if you only get response from the last 10% of the travel?

Doug

madbean

Keith, the tone knob is supposed to work as a cut in the RR, just as it does in the Carmen Ghia amp that it's modeled after.

If it is still too bright at any setting for you, then you just need to keep upping the values of C5, C6 and C7. There's really no correct value here....this kind of boost is going to handle itself differently in different gear set-ups. This is why I included the switch---to give you two tonal ranges to choose from.

I would socket those caps and try some combinations. Here are some suggestions you might try:

C5--------C6--------C7
4n7        68n          22n
6n8        68n          33n
6n8        82n          15n