News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

substitute a resistor in place of a potentiometer?

Started by fivestring, March 02, 2014, 06:52:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fivestring

Hey, noob here. I have a basic question about builds that are not from this site. I hope I don't get chewed out for this, but after browsing diy forums, this one has so far been the most active and helpful to me.
So here's my progect-
I am trying to install a simple 9v amp http://www.runoffgroove.com/ruby.html
and a distortion effect http://www.diyguitarpedals.com.au/shop/boms/7_Min_Fuzz_Schematic.pdf
inside a cigar box guitar. The idea is to have a simple, travel, jam guitar that you can switch on and plug any speaker or headphones into.
My goal is to make the guitar as simple as possible to play with minimal switches and controls.
I want only a volume pot for the amp and an on/off switch for the fuzz. My thought was that I could put a resistor in place of the fuzz pot at the right level to get the distortion effect at the same volume as the clean tone.
Is this possible??
I have already built the 2 components with some success, I am still trying to work out the cracks and buzzes. 

RobA

I can't get to the schematic to the fuzz right now, because the server won't respond. In general, it would be possible to put resistors in place of the sections of pots to set the fuzz level and the volume level to match the output levels together. But, I'd need to be able to see the schematic to be sure of how it would go together.

Does the fuzz normally have two pots or is there just one?
Affiliations: Music Unfolding (musicunfolding.com), software based effects and Rock•it Frog (rock.it-frog.com), DIY effects (coming soon).

RobA