News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Tube amp kit

Started by night-B, April 26, 2011, 12:20:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

night-B

I'd like to hear if anyone had a good experience building a tube amp kit. Wich manufacturer model etc...
I'm looking for an easy submini or normal tube amp and I'm an absolute noob with tubes

Myramyd

I've been debating/researching this topic endlessly for a while too. I've narrowed it down to either an AX84 project or Trinity Amps kit. Provided I ever have enough money again.  :'(

I can't figure out whether I will find building a tube amp easy or difficult. I've built around 20 pedals so far but, all that hard wiring looks scary to me--more because I'm afraid of a noisy build than anything.

Sub-mini is kind of a different category to me.

J

jkokura

If I were to build a kit for an amp, I would first choose Trinity Amps out of Toronto. Have a friend who says building their amps is really easy because of their documentation and support. Great products too, and hands down his recommendation.

Next would be ceriatone for similar reasons, from the same guy, but because they're overseas it costs more to import to where I am in Canada. They have some really great products as well.

I'm interested in building that HiWatt inspired Trinity clone, and a Lightning clone from ceriatone. I think if I'm able to build one of those two, I might feel confident enough to assemble my own tweed/blackface deluxe clone and build a fender tube reverb unit (in stereo for that one).

But I too have to save up money for those. Hopefully I'll have a job by summer and my pedal building profits will no longer need to be diverted to other things... Perhaps by Christmas I'll have enough for a kit, and next summer I'll be building my own deluxe and reverb units. I could always sell my Fender Concert for the funds I guess...

Jacob
JMK Pedals - Custom Pedal Creations
JMK PCBs *New Website*
pedal company - youtube - facebook - Used Pedals