News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Cherrybomb help...trailing sizzle noise

Started by salty, August 11, 2014, 08:02:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

salty

Hi there. I am kind of new to building pedals and the Cherrybomb was my almost my first Madbean build and now trying to complete my second attempt at my first.

If any one could help me out, it would be greatly appreciated. I am at wits end with this build.

So, I bought a Cherrybomb board and populated it, got it all wired up and connected to my test board and it sounded great, except for this trailing kind of static/sizzle noise at the end of notes. It seemed to happen more so on some notes than others. I started swapping parts out thinking I must have something wrong...I ended up lifting a couple of traces and decided to start fresh with a new board.

I ordered the board and it arrive. I populated it with a total different set of components... the only thins I tried to use were the transistors.

I am having the same sizzle sound and this time it is worse than before.

I have tried all of the BC109 and other compatible trannies I have and all get the same result, that leads me to believe it is not my transistors causing the problem.

I read somewhere that the ceramic cap could possible be related and I saw that another layout for the circuit showed a 500pf, so I swapped in a 470pf that I had on hand. The problem still exist.

On my first build I ended up swapping out R6 and R13 for 2.2K instead of the stock 1.8K. The swap I made lowered the collector for Q2 and Q3 to around 5v, they had been almost 6 before.

On the current board I socketed those two transistors and currently have the 2.2k in the sockets.

My current transistors readings are:

Q1: BC169
E: .46
B: 1.01
C: 1.68

Q2: BC109B (I had another BC169 here and from all the putting in and out, one of the legs broke off) :(
E: 1.03
B: 1.67
C: 4.7

Q3: BC183
E: .92
B: 1.55
C: 5.1