News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Are you a player or builder?

Started by junkemail86, April 27, 2011, 03:12:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

junkemail86

Seems like there are a lot of people with electronics or engineering backgrounds here.  I was wondering if most of you consider yourself better axemen or solderhands?  I'm neither by trade, but I hope that my playing is at least a little better than my building after looking at my soldering work...

bigmufffuzzwizz

Yea I find myself putting more confindence into my building. I have friends who smoke me playing guitar and I feel like I can leave it too them. But my buddy who always plays guitar (8 hours everyday) says he wants to move away from "pedals" and more into real "guitar playing/tone". I'm sure he'll still play my pedals though!  ;D
Owner and operator of Magic Pedals

jkokura

JMK Pedals - Custom Pedal Creations
JMK PCBs *New Website*
pedal company - youtube - facebook - Used Pedals

stecykmi

i actually pursued engineering (mostly) because i got interested in musical electronics.

i later found that as an engineering student you don't have enough time to play, haha. my guitar playing hasn't progressed very much since school. if i had to make a gamble on which i could make more money doing, i'd have to choose the technical side of music, but i'd like to think that i'm still a (mediocre) player at heart.

juansolo

Definitely a builder. I only bought a guitar a couple of years ago with a desire to learn to play and it wasn't long before I'd bought a BYOC kit as I fancied getting back into electronics also. The building then overtook the playing. With a full-time job in IT and my main hobby running fast cars around in circles, the playing has certainly suffered.