News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

A/B box to both series and parallel?

Started by PaxWorks, May 06, 2011, 12:44:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PaxWorks

I'm still new to efffects building so please be patient with me. I plan on purchasing the POG2. I like the way it sounds in parallel as well in series with other pedal. I don't want to have to buy two,(one connected in parallel the other in series on my pedal board).

I was wondering if it would be at all possible to build some kind of A/B box that would let me switch the effect from parallel to series in realtime? This way I could get those "shimmering" underneath my tone and when I want to play the guitar like a synth pad.

Myramyd

Well, you might have to use a 4PDT switch, because you have to switch both the input and output at the same time. But it could be done.

I just did a similar thing with my POG and Whammy so I could run them in parallel to each other for multiple harmonies.

J

Myramyd

One thing to note however, is there is a gain difference when running in parallel. You might want to build in a pot to balance it out. Otherwise it adds some gain and a bit of noise when running in parallel full out.

J

Myramyd

I wonder if you could just build a looper pedal and have the input and output jumpered in some particular fashion.

Hmmm....maybe somebody else can debate this.

J

JakeFuzz

Yeah I think your best bet would be a Paramix with a series bypass switch.

jkokura

I have a splitter/buffer layout for you, which will give you a buffered parallel signal. From there, you need a mixer at the output, and you can use a true bypass loop to activate the parallel effect. I'll post some more details for you later tonight on how I would do it.

Jacob
JMK Pedals - Custom Pedal Creations
JMK PCBs *New Website*
pedal company - youtube - facebook - Used Pedals

PaxWorks

Quote from: jkokura on May 06, 2011, 02:45:56 PM