News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

I need help with a mod to a ross comp clone

Started by jball85, May 30, 2011, 10:56:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jball85

Im relatively new to this stuff so my reading comprehension is lacking when pertaining to electronic circuits if anybody is bored and feeling up to drawing a simple picture/diagram for this mod it would be much appreciated thank you. Or if you know where to find one drop a link for me.

If you use a 3-position on-off-on SPDT toggle for this, then the sensible way to wire it up is as follows.

Replace the 150k resistor on the board with a 10k+150k pair in series, installed like a "St. Louis arch" with their junction pointing up; be sure to leave a little extra lead from the 150k resistor sticking out on the component side of the board, which you'll need for the other steps below.
Run a lead from the junction of the 150k+10k pair to the common (centre lug) on the switch.
Run a lead from the other end of the 150k resistor to one of the outside lugs on the switch.
Solder a 39k resistor from the unused lug of the toggle to the other *outside* lug.
Done.

When the switch is in the centre position, it isn't connected to anything, so the effective resistance is the sum of the 150k and 10k resistors, or 160k. When the switch is in the side position where it connects directly to the other wire going to the board, it shunts the 150k resistor, making the effective resistance 10k. When it is switched to the other side position, you have a 39k resistance placed in parallel with the 150k resistor, yielding a combined parallel resistance of 30.9k, which yields around 40k when summed with the 10k in series.

k.rock!

|
                           ____|____
                           |_______|
                       ____|   |   |_____
                      |          |    |       |
                     39K       |    |       |
                      |______^__|       |