Author Topic: Mains Power Conditioner?  (Read 1402 times)

raulduke

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
    • View Profile
    • SJ Effects
Mains Power Conditioner?
« on: April 13, 2015, 02:36:03 AM »
Background:

I live in a farmhouse close to a load of fields, and thus farmers and their ruddy farming ways  :)

Every year in crop season one of the farmers starts up inverters for his irrigation pumps.

These inverters absolutely hammer the mains supply (switch over interference).... I hooked up a step down transformer to the mains (so I could look at the waveform on a scope) and the waveform looks nothing like a sine wave when he is running the pumps  >:(

Anyhow, rather than falling out with the neighbours and reporting him, I put up with it.

What it does mean is some of my amps hum like a sod for 4 months of the year.

Question:
Anyone know of a good power conditioner that isolates, filters and maintains a nice steady mains supply?

I know these things exist, but I don't know if any are available that at a reasonable/affordable price?

jkokura

  • Global Moderator
  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 7476
  • Jacob - SK, Canada
    • View Profile
    • JMK PCBs
Re: Mains Power Conditioner?
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2015, 03:16:41 AM »
Furman is the name that's synonymous with Power and Guitar stuff.

But here are options: http://www.guitarcenter.com/Power-Conditioners-Power-Supplies--Conditioners--Cords.gc

Jacob
JMK Pedals - Custom Pedal Creations
JMK PCBs *New Website*
pedal company - youtube - facebook - Used Pedals

Bret608

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1644
    • View Profile
Re: Mains Power Conditioner?
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2015, 08:05:25 AM »
I wonder if Paul's (Chromesphere's) Power Pellet may help? I seem to remember it was a simple solution for exactly this type of issue.

I've got mains issues at my house as well as living close to large radio towers. There are some days when I pick up the radio no matter what effect I'm playing through.

raulduke

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
    • View Profile
    • SJ Effects
Re: Mains Power Conditioner?
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2015, 08:33:07 AM »
Thanks for the input guys.

The problem is mains interference audible through my amplifiers. Therefore the conditioner needs to be operable at mains voltage.

From what I can remember the power pellet was for use with 9V/pedal equipment?


I had a look at Furman stuff and you can get something reasonably cheap.

Might be worth a shot.

The mains waveform looks terrible when the pumps+inverter equipment are causing most interference... almost like a sawtooth wave  >:(

Bret608

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1644
    • View Profile
Re: Mains Power Conditioner?
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2015, 10:45:43 AM »
I think that's correct about the power pellet, so I see why that wouldn't work. Good to know the Furman stuff isn't too steep price-wise.  :)

JohnL

  • Diode Destroyer
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: Mains Power Conditioner?
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2015, 11:24:05 AM »
Furman are the folks, I believe you are in the UK so try http://www.furmansound.com/product.php?div=03&id=P-1400ARE. These are not cheap, but should solve your problem.

GermanCdn

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 2092
  • Curtis - Calgary, AB
    • View Profile
Re: Mains Power Conditioner?
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2015, 11:36:15 AM »
I've used power conditioners (mainly Carvin actually) to try and fix dirty power problems with my amps, and have had decent results.  Problem is I usually have 4 - 6 amps hooked up to one conditioner (because they're rack mount), and that makes it a bit of PITA.  But for one or two amps, it would be slick.
The only known cure in the world for GAS is death.  That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

raulduke

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
    • View Profile
    • SJ Effects
Re: Mains Power Conditioner?
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2015, 02:29:16 AM »
I also found these which can be had for ~10.

Quite neat

http://www.rapidonline.com/electronic-components/chassis-mounting-filter-64492

They don't provide any surge protection etc. though, just simple filtering.

CodeMonk

  • Diode Destroyer
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Personal Text Goes Here
    • View Profile
Re: Mains Power Conditioner?
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2015, 07:31:23 PM »
Furman is THE name to go for when it comes to good power conditioning.
Before I knew much about the litigious ways of Monster Cable, I bought one of these:
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Monster-Power-PRO-1000-with-Clean-Power-Stage-2-Power-Outlets-102790748-i1125242.gc
Its worked well for me over the years.
I live in an area with dirty and sometime unpredictable power.
We usually have a power transformer blow about once a year during heavy snow or wind during the winter (It looks like the 4th of July when one of those things blows and night turns to day, etc.)

And an additional FYI, I would have no problem buying used stuff, but NOT power conditioners.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2015, 07:34:43 PM by CodeMonk »
My friends call me Rob

Affiliations :
Dalton Jones Electronics: Chief Tinkerer (Temporarily on hold)
SmallBear Electronics

davent

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 2060
  • Hamilton ON
    • View Profile
Re: Mains Power Conditioner?
« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2015, 10:19:53 PM »
I also found these which can be had for ~10.

Quite neat

http://www.rapidonline.com/electronic-components/chassis-mounting-filter-64492

They don't provide any surge protection etc. though, just simple filtering.

For an RFI filter all you need are couple AC line rated caps and two small chokes/inductors.

 I usually put this in my amp builds, (as long as i can squeeze it in), no idea how effective it is. as i don't seem to have a problem.



dave
"If you always do what you always did- you always get what you always got." - Unknown

If my photos are missing again... they're hosted by photobucket... and as of 06/2017 being held hostage... to be continued?

raulduke

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
    • View Profile
    • SJ Effects
Re: Mains Power Conditioner?
« Reply #10 on: April 15, 2015, 02:51:40 AM »
Thanks for the info.

I think I might just bite the bullet and get myself a Furman.

It'll be like when I bought my Voodoo Labs Pedal Power... not a fun/exciting purchase, but a worthy one that should last years  ;D