News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Slambox for a complete newb!

Started by 68Charger, March 28, 2010, 07:12:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

68Charger

Hey Brian! I haven't spoken with you since I bought several PCBs in November, but have had a hell of a time getting these things to work. (It is most likely me, Sorry!)

I wired them up (Version 2.5) and my wet signal bottoms out compared to the dry signal even though I can faintly hear the crackle. I have replaced countless transistors and tried all the different boards to still no avail.  :'(

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Austin from Denton.

pandadandan

Quote from: 68Charger on March 28, 2010, 07:12:11 AM
Hey Brian! I haven't spoken with you since I bought several PCBs in November, but have had a hell of a time getting these things to work. (It is most likely me, Sorry!)

I wired them up (Version 2.5) and my wet signal bottoms out compared to the dry signal even though I can faintly hear the crackle. I have replaced countless transistors and tried all the different boards to still no avail.  :'(

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Austin from Denton.

Are you socketing the transistors?
If not, you may be frying them; they're extremely temperature-sensitive.

If you are, post some trace-side pcb shots (as high def as you can) and we'll see what's up.

68Charger

Hey Pandadandan!

I am not using sockets for these, I looked around but couldn't find one that would fit the PCB holes. So, I have been using my heat-sink clamp, but like you said, I still might be frying them.

One thing I did try was to take a transistor and hold it to the traces and test that way, but still found the same results....I will post some pics in a bit.

What sockets do you recommend?

Thanks!

pandadandan

Hey man,
I just checked the pcb layout for this pedal.
All you need is an in-line "snap off" socket, which looks like this:

Available at a fairly high cost from Smallbear.  I'm sure there are other places, too.