News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Re: New Builder Buying Blues

Started by K3yPr0gg3r, March 31, 2016, 07:22:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

K3yPr0gg3r

Hi,

If I'm repeating an ongoing forum question, I apologize. I did a search, and found nothing relating to what I'm about to ask. I haven't purchased passive parts, (resistors/Caps), for the 8 PCB's I've already bought, and THANK GOODNESS I haven't! I'd have wasted money. It seems that an MPSA18 transistor or a 1n5817 diode are just what they are. However, a 2m2 or 180k resistor, or 100n/470pf/22uf capacitor aren't what they seem to a new guy.

As a new builder, I want to do quality work, and I rely on the build documents that come with the PCB I'm about to buy. I had the good sense to email one of my main suppliers with links to components I was planning on getting, and I'm grateful I did...Because all my decisions where WRONG!

Build docs. Don't tell you that the 22uf electro cap. needs to be 5x9mm and 25VDC, (not 5x11mm and 50VDC). Is there a page somewhere that lets new builders know what limits PASSIVE components need to be in order to fit the enclosure, and properly function when the stomp is pressed?

Thanks

flanagan0718

I can certainly understand the confusion on some, if not most parts. I still from time to time order ELE caps that are too big or the lead spacing is off. It happens to the best of us. Honestly ordering from Tayda the first few times helped quite at first. It will give you a few parts to measure and compare to. It also helps that the parts are pretty cheap too.

I only recently started ordering somethings in bulk. Honestly Mouser scared the CRAP out of me at first. I still don't order from them but that's beside the point. Here are a few things that are pretty common for parts

Box film cap lead spacing = 5mm
Electro Cap lead spacing = 2mm or 2.5mm
Electro Cap Diameter = 5mm or 6mm
Pot Shaft Diameter = 6mm - 6.4mm