News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Lab Series Preamp Debug

Started by strat68, August 04, 2016, 08:57:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

strat68

Finished it and after finding out I had both voltage regulators (7815, 7915)reversed I need to see why it does not work.
Doc: https://www.dropbox.com/s/dnizjzbetec84gu/aion-lab-series-preamp-documentation.pdf?dl=1

1. Since I had the VRs reversed should I expect damage to them or any downstream components.  They got hot when reversed and still get hot when inserted properly.

2. The AC power source measures about 12 volts and not 9.

3. When measuring voltages,  since I'm not a circuits expert, should the meter be set on AC or DC voltage?  The board has  +/- 15v testpoints.  AC or DC?   

Thanks!

m-Kresol

1) If you have the regulators correct now, do have effect? does it work as advertised? If yes, then your answer is No. If it doesn't work, I would start tracing the signal and see where it stops/acts weird. Could well be you fried an IC, but I'm not quite sure.

2) AC having 12V is not a big deal. did you measure it without anything attached, ie. no load? If yes, than that's normal anyways. Voltage will drop when you add a load. It's important to have at least 9V with the load.

3) The diodes in the beginning of the power section are a bridge rectifier. After that you will only have DC voltage.

good luck
I build pedals to hide my lousy playing.

My projects are labeled Quantum Effects. My shared OSH park projects: https://oshpark.com/profiles/m-Kresol
My build docs and tutorials

strat68

Thanks.  I suspected there was a rectifier.  And yes, I measured voltage right out of the power plug. 

As an aside, I wonder why they just didn't go with DC power the whole way?  Those regulators get pretty hot.

m-Kresol