Author Topic: 'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal  (Read 1787 times)

PhiloB

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
    • View Profile
'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal
« on: October 10, 2016, 06:30:17 AM »
Anyone have a project out there that allows use of a momentary switch that doesn't drop audio?  My brief searches turn up complaints about signal loss when depressed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

sturgeo

  • Solder Ninja
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
    • View Profile
    • JSFX Pedals
Re: 'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2016, 08:15:11 AM »
Do you mean clickless as in a soft touch switch or clickless as in no pop, from any pedal, ever?
If the later I don't know of any, the reason it can remove all pops is because it temporarily mutes the signal, typically using an opto isolator such as the TLP222G or the H11F1M.

flanagan0718

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 2674
  • Mike
    • View Profile
    • Custohm Electronics
'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2016, 08:17:10 AM »
Hey Phil,
I would check out the Coda FX blog. He has a tutorial on how to program an EPROM to use with a momentary switch. It's a really good write up. If I wasn't on my phone I'd post a link for you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

m-Kresol

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 2672
  • Felix - Graz, Austria
    • View Profile
    • My blog - in german
Re: 'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2016, 08:19:22 AM »
I build pedals to hide my lousy playing.

My projects are labeled Quantum Effects. My shared OSH park projects: https://oshpark.com/profiles/m-Kresol
My build docs
My etching tutorial

PhiloB

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
    • View Profile
Re: 'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2016, 09:22:06 AM »
That's a great article!  Does that design still suffer from the X00ms signal drop?  Anyone know?  Or is the signal drop inherent in a relay bypass?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

flanagan0718

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 2674
  • Mike
    • View Profile
    • Custohm Electronics
Re: 'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2016, 09:55:48 AM »
I think because of the relay there is no signal drop.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

m-Kresol

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 2672
  • Felix - Graz, Austria
    • View Profile
    • My blog - in german
Re: 'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2016, 10:03:37 AM »
I don't know why a relais should have a signal drop. It's basically just a switch that is operated by an inductor, which is in this case again controlled by the microcontroller. The relais switch is just a mechanical bridge in any case.
I build pedals to hide my lousy playing.

My projects are labeled Quantum Effects. My shared OSH park projects: https://oshpark.com/profiles/m-Kresol
My build docs
My etching tutorial

pickdropper

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 6057
    • View Profile
Re: 'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal
« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2016, 10:25:23 AM »
I think it's because some of them have a brief mute to prevent popping sounds.  People assume popping goes away with the soft touch switch, but it doesn't always. 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Function f(x)
Follow me on Instagram as pickdropper

PhiloB

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
    • View Profile
Re: 'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2016, 12:34:44 PM »
Thanks guys.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PhiloB

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
    • View Profile
Re: 'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2016, 12:40:48 PM »
Have you guys used Josh's :
http://1776effects.com/product/finish-line-relay-bypass/


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Muadzin

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: 'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2016, 06:09:13 AM »
I think it's because some of them have a brief mute to prevent popping sounds.  People assume popping goes away with the soft touch switch, but it doesn't always. 

Aye, sometimes there is no eliminating the annoying buggerd, no matter what you do. But I suspect the problem then is somewhere in your signal chain, not the actual switch itself.

gordo

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1957
    • View Profile
    • Project Website
Re: 'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal
« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2016, 10:40:07 PM »
I've used Josh's but haven't had issues with optical either. Relay is instant, optical has a delay but haven't noticed an issue with either. Optical delay hasn't been an issue. Most amps (Crate and Fender being the most noticeable) have far worse lags.

gtr2

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 4764
  • Josh
    • View Profile
    • 1776 effects
Re: 'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2016, 03:04:52 PM »
What's the application?  Effects bypass or something like a stutter switch?
1776 EFFECTS STORE     
Contract PCB designer

PhiloB

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
    • View Profile
Re: 'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal
« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2016, 10:29:13 AM »
Application is effects bypass


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gtr2

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 4764
  • Josh
    • View Profile
    • 1776 effects
Re: 'Clickless' Bypass circuit that doesn't loose signal
« Reply #14 on: October 14, 2016, 07:25:50 PM »
A relay bypass is the best option as it's mechanical contacts like a standard switch.  (Maybe better)
NO signal loss  :)  I've never had a complaint with the Finish Line.

Josh
1776 EFFECTS STORE     
Contract PCB designer