News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

HELP! Carlsbad Reverb BTDR

Started by seagurt, February 10, 2017, 08:15:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

seagurt

I bought a kit from Mammoth, the Carlsbad reverb, a unit that uses the Belton Brick BTDR2.

I completed the build 2 days ago, but the pedal isn't working.

I have built a few pedals, but I am far from complete in my knowledge of electricity. I am still learning, and hope this will be another good learning opportunity.

Here is the parts list, and build document I worked from.
https://moodysounds.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/carlsbad-reverb-assembly-instructions.pdf

Here are the symptoms;

The pedal has been tried in and out of the enclosure
The LED lights up, and I am getting power to the board (more on that later)
I am getting signal through on bypass, but nothing when engaged.
The switch appears to be fine, as do my Jacks and battery snap/Dc jack

Voltages read as follows;

J4- J201
G- -0.00v
S- .28v
D- 1.05v

J5- LM78L05acz
1-VOUT- 5v
2-GND- 0v
3-VIN- 9.58v

Q1-MPSA18
C- .52v
B- 0.01v
E- .34v

U2 (IC) TL072CP
1- 7.96v
2- 8.64v
3- 8.65v
4- 9.58v
5- 8.66v
6- 8.66v
7- 7.09v
8- 0v

Belton Brick BTDR-2H
1- 5v
2- 0v
3- .26v
4- 0v
5- .04
6- .04

I understand some of these numbers, and from my limited knowledge, it seems that maybe something is off with my J201, and/or MPSA18.

I do have an audio probe, and plan on throwing that at this problem later on if I can find the time. I thought I would try my luck, and post here, as I have always found it helpful to do so.

Here is a link to a few pictures of the PCB, with off board components, unboxed.
http://imgur.com/gallery/5ISB0

Feel free to offer any suggestions.

I appreciate the time and capabilities of all who chime in.

m-Kresol

first off, welcome to the forum. also thanks for sticking to the tech-help guidelines.