News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Waterslide Finish Cracking???

Started by Guava, February 16, 2017, 05:49:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Guava

I'm new to waterslides, having previously done the etching thing for a few pedals.  I'm getting a weird reaction between my waterslide paper (Blinggasm brand clear laser waterslide from Amazon, classy name) and Krylon clear coat.  I get spiderweb cracks throughout the decal as soon as I spray it, even with a light coat.

I tried spraying the decal after printing and before putting it in water, which resulted in some minor cracking and decal shrinkage.  So I reprinted and skipped the clear coat, which worked great.  Smooth decal, no shrinking--it looked fantastic.  I let it dry overnight and just sprayed the first coat of clear--cracks EVERYWHERE.

Has anybody had this experience before?  I've read what little I can find on the topic, but the advice seems to be don't spray the clear heavily.  I sprayed a light coat, so I'm at a loss.

jimilee

I've never had that happen or heard of it. I did switch to rustoleum glossy.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Pedal building is like the opposite of sex.  All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.

Guava

Yeah I might just try another type of clear or do envirotex instead.  Time to sand this baby down.

sarde

I have the same decal paper. I also had severe cracking issues using rustoleum spray lacquer clear on it. I solved the problem by wiping on a thin coat of shellac (from home depot) on the printed decal paper, letting it dry, and then applying the decal to my pedals and final coating the pedal (with the same rattle can of rustoleum lacquer). It solved the problem for me.

Check out some of my projects over at https://pendragonguitarworks.wordpress.com/

Guava

Oh cool!  I'll try that then. The bullseye shellac?

davent

You can get that 'bullseye'  shellac in a spray can as well, handy way to evenly apply very little.

dave