News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Why don't we have a craft beer thread? Now we do!

Started by jubal81, April 21, 2017, 10:15:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jubal81

I've been expanding my beer horizons for a few years and now that I live in the Hops capital of the universe, it's only getting worse. Which reminds me - I need to make sure I have the day off for the Hops festival ...

I've had a lot of really great beers since moving to the Pacific Northwest last year and my favorite brewery so far is Fremont in Seattle. During the hops harvest, they have beers made with fresh, organically grown hops which was the hook that got me to notice them, but everything in their lineup is spectacular. The seasonals are a treat, with fall's Bonfire Ale taking the prize.

"If you put all the knobs on your amplifier on 10 you can get a much higher reaction-to-effort ratio with an electric guitar than you can with an acoustic."
- David Fair

pickdropper

Had some of this the other day, quite enjoyed it:

Function f(x)
Follow me on Instagram as pickdropper

bsoncini

I love me a good IPA. Thankfully craft beer is starting to get more popular in France. Still too expensive. Costs much more than when I lived in the US. But at least I can find a few good beers at the grocery stores other than known Belgian beers.

Sometimes they get too French about it, "this pairs well with this or that cheese", "sublime with fois gras", etc.

culturejam

NJ is blowing up right now in terms of craft beer. In fact, one of my good friends (we were in the same homebrew club for years) opened a brewery not far from me. And from his place, there are two others within a very short walking distance in downtown Hackettstown (those would be Jersey Girl and Czig Meister).

Here's my buddy Joe's brewery: http://manskirtbrewing.com/

It's so named because for years, he's always brewed while wearing a kilt. And he still does, and so do his brewer's assistants when they are in the brewery.