Author Topic: Pale Horse No Signal in Bypass ... Fixed .... I Think ...  (Read 294 times)

BrianS

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
    • View Profile
Pale Horse No Signal in Bypass ... Fixed .... I Think ...
« on: July 04, 2017, 02:27:27 PM »
Finally put this together yesterday.  Pedal sounds fantastic when on but I'm getting no bypass when it's off. I am out for the day so I can't post pics.  Any ideas on why this might be happening? All the parts came from Mouser so that's not a problem. 
« Last Edit: July 06, 2017, 09:21:02 AM by BrianS »

m-Kresol

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 2223
  • Felix - Graz, Austria
    • View Profile
    • My blog - in german
Re: Pale Horse No Signal in Bypass
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2017, 02:30:13 PM »
Finally put this together yesterday.  Pedal sounds fantastic when on but I'm getting no bypass when it's off. I am out for the day so I can't post pics.  Any ideas on why this might be happening? All the parts came from Mouser so that's not a problem.


which bypass system are you using? Got any audioprobe results?

No offense, but you know the drill about getting tech help... we need more info please. good luck
I build pedals to hide my lousy playing.

my shared OSH park projects: https://oshpark.com/profiles/m-Kresol

madbean

  • Administrator
  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 7535
  • Brian
    • View Profile
Re: Pale Horse No Signal in Bypass
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2017, 04:59:43 PM »
Do you hear the relay click over when you press the momentary switch? Have you grounded as described in the doc? Both of those could be problem areas.
I own madbeanpedals (duh). I am part owner of Function F(X).

Ralfg

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
  • Ralf
    • View Profile
Re: Pale Horse No Signal in Bypass
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2017, 06:08:17 PM »
Check your relay against the picture in the doc. I wired mine upside down the first time and got no bypass signal... doh!

BrianS

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
    • View Profile
Re: Pale Horse No Signal in Bypass
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2017, 06:33:19 PM »
Well I got home from my sons house and started looking at what I did wrong.  Didn't take to long to find what I freaking did (relay backwards as Ralfg said and I looked at the picture before putting it and still did it wrong. What a JA).  I got it out but broke a pin in the process.  I had a spare and put it in and I have bypass now but now the pedal won't work when engaged.  I probed the board and have signal into pins 7 and 8 of the relay but I was so pissed that I just put everything away and will see if I have anything going out of the relay tomorrow. 

I suppose if I have nothing going to the other side of the relay I can assume I fried it putting it in, yes or no? 

Fantastic sounding pedal even when I didn't have bypass. Kinda wish I would have just left well enough alone and just kept it on all the time.

Thanks guys for responding.


BrianS

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
    • View Profile
Re: Pale Horse No Signal in Bypass
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2017, 12:24:04 PM »
Probed the other side of the relay.  I have signal going in from pin 7 to 2 but nothing to 3 which of course goes directly to the out jack.  And I did put a new jack in last night just to ensure that would not be the problem.  So I am guessing theres a problem with the relay opening up, ie, I fried the new relay?

BrianS

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
    • View Profile
Re: Pale Horse No Signal in Bypass
« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2017, 09:51:05 PM »
I got it working.  I reflowed the connections between the 2 boards and it seems to be ok. 

Ralfg

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
  • Ralf
    • View Profile
Re: Pale Horse No Signal in Bypass ... Fixed .... I Think
« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2017, 09:01:50 AM »
Glad you got it working and it was nothing major.

BrianS

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
    • View Profile
Thanks. I just hope things don't go wack when I box it.  I am sort of worried about that.