News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Programming Molecular Disruption Device

Started by jghfslk, November 19, 2017, 03:56:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jghfslk

I am attempting to build David Rolo's Molecular Disruption Device.  I have the everything finished and now need to program the EEPROM.  I have an embarrassingly small amount of programming knowledge and am hoping someone can help guide me through it.  I have a Pickit 2 clone that I'll be connecting to the PCB and programming it that way.  When I first plugged the Pickit in to my computer it looked like the drivers were automatically installed.   I have SpinAsm downloaded onto my computer and can open different codes.  When I click the assemble to Program in the SpinAsm software my Pickit busy LED does not flash like I thought it was supposed to.  Am I missing something? 

Also, when I connect my 9V power supply to the PCB the overload indicator LED lights up.  Is this normal?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Andlord

Keep in mind that the PickKit works with USB Voltage which is 5V. 9V leeding to the overload indicator to light up is normal an you should avoid it while programming.

Sorry I can't help you with the rest of the Problem :( If you can generate a .hex file with SpinAsm you should be able to use Microchips IDE to programm it into your chip

jghfslk

Thanks for the reply!

When programming the chip, should I not be feeding the pcb 9v?  I thought I read in the build document that the pedal needs to be powered when programming the chip.

selfdestroyer

Quote from: jghfslk on November 20, 2017, 07:12:17 AM
Thanks for the reply!

When programming the chip, should I not be feeding the pcb 9v?  I thought I read in the build document that the pedal needs to be powered when programming the chip.

Yes, the PIC still needs to be powered by the pedal. The pins it uses from the PICKIT is the DATA, CLOCK and GND. So the power/VDD comes from the pedal power.

Cody

jghfslk