News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Im new here!

Started by billtwof, September 20, 2011, 10:12:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

billtwof

Hello all,

I'm new to this Great site here, some excellent advice found already but i have one question of my own!
I work in a guitar shop and have done a small amount of basic soldering and am not completely alien to the world of musical equipment in all its wonderful and baffling varieties.
I am however totally green with electronics and reading schematics.
Can anyone recommend a good starting point, reference book or tutorial?
I've searched online and the amount of different types of 'electronics' guides from wiring aircraft to building computers that come up is amazing.
Is there something along the lines of or considered as a pedal building bible?!
I'm confident of sticking a simple project together but would love to actually know what each components job is and how swapping out different diodes will change the resulting sound etc...
I found one by a Brian something who makes and sells some nice looking stuff but its been discontinued!
Thanks in advance

irmcdermott

Welcome!

Here are a ton of books to start with.

http://www.madbeanpedals.com/forum/index.php?topic=1232.0

Read everything you possibly can on R.G. Keen's site

http://www.geofex.com/

I have found the Tech stuff over at Beavis Audio's site helpful as well.

http://www.beavisaudio.com/techpages/

That should be enough to get you started.

There should be some tutorials popping up here on this site in the future. Again, welcome to the forum!

Ian

slimtriggers

Quote from: billtwof on September 20, 2011, 10:12:25 PM

I found one by a Brian something who makes and sells some nice looking stuff but its been discontinued!
Thanks in advance

I think you're thinking of Brian Wampler aka Indyguitarist.  Yeah, looks like his books are out of print :(

shawnee

Welcome!