News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Fat Pants JR. Debugging. T1 isn't biasing?

Started by elenore19, February 10, 2018, 11:52:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

elenore19

http://www.madbeanpedals.com/projects/FatPantsJR/FatPantsJR.pdf
There is no sound going through the pedal. I haven't boxed it up yet.
I'm working on adjusting the trimmer to bias the Jfet. The voltage at TP doesn't change when I adjust the trimmer.
It's stuck at 26.8V

I checked the voltages of the IC and they're how they should be. Also, the Jfet voltages were off. The Drain makes sense it's off due to the trimmer not accomplishing what it should, but maybe there's something more making the Source be off? I really am a noob at this stuff. What do you think?
D: 26.8V
S: 0V (this should be 363 mV. )
G: 0V

I'm not good at debugging. So from here I checked all solder joints, looked for solder bridges to no avail.

I tested the trimmer and it's resistance is on point and changes when I adjust it.

Help?!

Thanks

-Elliot

blearyeyes

Quote from: elenore19 on February 10, 2018, 11:52:42 AM
http://www.madbeanpedals.com/projects/FatPantsJR/FatPantsJR.pdf
There is no sound going through the pedal. I haven't boxed it up yet.
I'm working on adjusting the trimmer to bias the Jfet. The voltage at TP doesn't change when I adjust the trimmer.
It's stuck at 26.8V

I checked the voltages of the IC and they're how they should be. Also, the Jfet voltages were off. The Drain makes sense it's off due to the trimmer not accomplishing what it should, but maybe there's something more making the Source be off? I really am a noob at this stuff. What do you think?
D: 26.8V
S: 0V (this should be 363 mV. )
G: 0V

I'm not good at debugging. So from here I checked all solder joints, looked for solder bridges to no avail.

I tested the trimmer and it's resistance is on point and changes when I adjust it.

Help?!

Thanks

-Elliot