News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Engineer's Thumb

Started by Marshall Arts, February 18, 2018, 05:19:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Marshall Arts

Had this JMK board and the relevant components lying around for over a year now and thought, I'd spend the morning building it and putting it in a reused 1590b. Who would have thought, that a mere low-effort-build would end up so nicely. And what a nice compressor that is!!! For the records: I am an engineer, so the "artwork" was obvious. Labels are "Volume", "Bright", "Compress", "Threshhold", "Attack" and "Release".

Marshall Arts

P.S. Now I got to learn THIS ONE. What a nice version!!! Perfect for a sunday afternoon!

Boba7

Thats really nice, I like it a lot.

I've never built this circuit. How useful are the 3 added pots? How « transparent » is the circuit? Does it cut high like any Ross comp?

gordo

I wanna get my hands on that wood stash!!!
Gordy Power
How loud is too loud?  What?

blearyeyes

All compressors will remove highs to a certain extant. As you probably already know it is the nature of compression.  Interesting pedal. I would love to build one and I understand what you are saying: "as an audio engineer." I like to have control of the attack and decay settings.

I want that guitar man oh man I love those.  And that is some sweet guitar playing!

Boba7

Quote from: blearyeyes on February 18, 2018, 02:29:37 PM
All compressors will remove highs to a certain extant. As you probably already know it is the nature of compression.

Yeah sort of but I like the Afterlife/4:1 or the Diamond comp for that reason: they dont really cut highs all that much, at least to my ears. The 4:1 is my favorite comp ever but I'd be curious to build an ET at some point... maybe with an added blend pot... 6 pots and 1 switch? :D

blearyeyes

Quote from: Boba7 on February 18, 2018, 02:36:30 PM