News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Debugging basics

Started by Marv Mod, September 24, 2011, 10:26:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Marv Mod

I'm still new to pedal building and I'm after some basic info on debugging, after a build issue.

I've built a Tonepad Small Clone chorus pedal. Then using Jacob's test rig, I rocked it before boxing it. Problem is, there's no chorusing sound at all. With the pedal on, all I hear is my clean, unaffected tone going through.

That makes me think of a couple of things. Is there a ground issue? Not sure, as the signal is getting through fine.
Next, it makes me think there's a parts issue? Probably, but if I have a dud part, will I still get full signal? I thought any dud part would kill the flow of signal? Maybe I'm wrong?

But am I also right in thinking that if you're getting signal, then there's probably not a soldering problem?

(For those familiar with this project, I've wound the trim pot up and down its range, with no joy).

So my question is, if I'm getting signal through the pedal when on, but no effect, what's likely to be the problem? I know it's cheeky asking for help on a non Madbean project, but I'm curious as to what's happened - I guess this problem could be applied to any pedal build.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated! And please correct me if any of the assumptions I've made above are wrong!

Cheers,
Jeremy

jkokura

Hi Jeremy. Sounds like your on the right track. A lot of re questions asking are actually answered in this thread here: http://www.madbeanpedals.com/forum/index.php?topic=902.msg5950#msg5950

Jacob
JMK Pedals - Custom Pedal Creations
JMK PCBs *New Website*
pedal company - youtube - facebook - Used Pedals

Marv Mod

Thanks Jacob, that's a great help. I'll get on with measuring voltages on my main components and triple check everything.