Author Topic: Blueprint tap tempo  (Read 1103 times)

Aentons

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Blueprint tap tempo
« on: April 23, 2018, 03:19:09 PM »
Anybody know how to do the tap tempo mod for the Blueprint?

fair.child

  • Solder Ninja
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
    • View Profile
Re: Blueprint tap tempo
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2018, 04:09:41 PM »
The only clue related to tap tempo is from Patreon EAGLE board for Tap Tempo. It does require an AVR and an MPC. Both of them are 8 pins. Otherwise, I'll go with Taprecise from Marshall Arts. I was looking to this for my Mega Pedal build.

Aentons

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Blueprint tap tempo
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2018, 02:57:24 PM »
Ok, here we go... An official tap tempo

Aentons

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Blueprint tap tempo
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2018, 02:58:37 PM »
Full inside shot

Aentons

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Blueprint tap tempo
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2018, 02:59:18 PM »
Under the chip

Aentons

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Blueprint tap tempo
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2018, 02:59:56 PM »
Tap board

fair.child

  • Solder Ninja
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
    • View Profile
Re: Blueprint tap tempo
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2018, 11:57:30 PM »
this is the board for tap tempo, isn't it?

Aentons

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Blueprint tap tempo
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2018, 03:37:43 PM »
Yes it is. I saw this one offered up for sale right after I asked about it and I've been on the fence about getting an official one so I figured why not. I've only ever seen one other with a tap jack about a year ago or so and it had the older graphic with the picture of the chip on it. There are probably not a whole lot of these floating around and I was super curious after reviewing the build doc.

I don't see this specific board offered on the uk-electronic.de site but there is a similar one that is switch mounted. It has a note about not using it with a modulated delay.

Anyways, I figured someone may be interested in seeing this so let me know if you want an other pics or details if the pics are too blurry.

fair.child

  • Solder Ninja
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
    • View Profile
Re: Blueprint tap tempo
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2018, 09:29:31 PM »
Can you post more pictures to see how the Tap Board is being wired? I have ordered one tap board from uk-electronics.

This is the board and I have confirmed with Patreon board for tap tempo. They are matched.

Kit Tap Tempo V2-TA for Digital Delay PT-80
[130-095]

The rail is the connector for tap tempo board, isn't it?

I see how the Jumper resistors are connected. So, leave the JUMP label off and Wire the TAP with 0 Ohm resistors.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2018, 09:33:34 PM by fair.child »

Aentons

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Blueprint tap tempo
« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2018, 01:55:42 PM »
Color coded pic1

Aentons

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Blueprint tap tempo
« Reply #10 on: April 30, 2018, 01:56:08 PM »
Color coded pic2

Aentons

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Blueprint tap tempo
« Reply #11 on: April 30, 2018, 01:57:14 PM »
Color coded pic3

Aentons

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Blueprint tap tempo
« Reply #12 on: April 30, 2018, 01:57:57 PM »
Color coded pic4

fair.child

  • Solder Ninja
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
    • View Profile
Re: Blueprint tap tempo
« Reply #13 on: April 30, 2018, 02:29:08 PM »
Thank you! I updated the drawing for the Tap Tempo on the VFE Mega Pedal Thread. Once the board comes, I'll try out and post the build report.

Aentons

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Blueprint tap tempo
« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2018, 05:15:11 PM »
I must have pulled something a little too hard trying to get pics. When I put it back together and hooked it up, all I get is static and crackles when it's turned on. I'll have to open it back up and see what's going on. Maybe it will help me understand it a little better to troubleshoot it.