News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Ran across some history (for me) tonight while clearing out the garage...

Started by culturejam, October 02, 2018, 04:57:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

culturejam

You old-timers will likely recall that I was a homebrewer before I was a pedal builder. I was so into the hobby, in fact, that I was a regular writer for the national homebrew magazine called Brew Your Own (or BYO). I used to write the DIY column for the guys who wanted to build gear instead of buy it. Shocker, right?  ;D 

Anyway, I was assigned to develop a build guide for a hop 'oast', which is a fancy way of saying dehydrator. So for the guys who grew their own hops, this would be a way to dry them in large quantities so they could be preserved and used over time. The pro versions had active ventilation and air-flow, and I wanted that on my home/DIY project as well. But I had no idea how to wire up a fan with an on/off and a speed control. At the time I was riding a train to work, and one of my commute buddies was a white-hat hacker and telephone system guy, and he drew me a schematic of what I should do. This was about 6 months before I built my first BYOC kit pedal.

So here is the top panel of the oast box -- my first actual electronics project --  with the fan, switch, and pot. It's been sitting in my garage since late 2006, and I've finally rolled it out to the curb for disposal. :)

Partner and Product Developer at Function f(x).
My Personal Site with Effects Projects

culturejam

And to answer the burning question I know you all will ask: yes, I saved the knob before I tossed the rest on the garbage pile.  ;D

chromesphere

Actually i was going to ask if it was true bypass :)

I was growing my own hops for a while but the consistancy (and gauging how bitter my crop actually was) was difficult to measure.  Really fun hobby though (beer brewing).
Pedal Parts Shop              Youtube

cooder

BigNoise Amplification

alanp