News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

What kind of capacitators for Aristocrat ? - Newbie Inside -

Started by WAXOU, July 17, 2010, 06:14:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WAXOU

Hi there,

I'm planning to build some of the projects from this great website, starting with the aristocrat.
But I'm a kind of a noob in electronic. I know how to solder and so, but regarding the choice of capacitator and resistor, I'm totally lost.

I'm guessing that C8, C10, C11 and C19 are electrolytics, but the other ones... Film ? Tantalum ? I have no ideas.
If anyone got the time to answer I'll appreciate a lot.

Thanks

To do is to be -- Descartes / To be is to do -- Sartre / Doo, bee, doo, bee, doo -- Sinatra

Haberdasher

Quote from: WAXOU on July 17, 2010, 06:14:57 PM
Hi there,

I'm planning to build some of the projects from this great website, starting with the aristocrat.
But I'm a kind of a noob in electronic. I know how to solder and so, but regarding the choice of capacitator and resistor, I'm totally lost.

I'm guessing that C8, C10, C11 and C19 are electrolytics, but the other ones... Film ? Tantalum ? I have no ideas.
If anyone got the time to answer I'll appreciate a lot.

Thanks

You're right, the circular ones on the diagram are electrolytics.  You will want radial, NOT axial.
c2, c13 are either ceramic disc, multilayer ceramic, or silver mica- you pick.
The rest I'd use film.  Make sure you get 5mm LS (lead spacing) where applicable for the film caps (especially the box type because they have very short leads).
Make sure your voltages on all your caps are high enough for 9v pedals, so 16v minimum.  I use 50v for ceramics, 63v or 100v for box films, and anywhere from 25v to 50v for electrolytics- depending on what I have around.  Try to look at the data sheet for the electrolytics to make sure they're not huge in size.  If you're not careful sometimes you can end up ordering something too big.
Conversions:  .1Uf (or mF) = 100n, and so on.