News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

NGD - incoming

Started by madbean, May 05, 2019, 06:48:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

madbean

I've been pining for a Jazzmaster for a few years. For the longest time I was leaning toward selling a bunch of gear and getting a Suhr JM Pro (which looks and sounds killer, IMO). But, I honestly can't justify the price point of $2500. I started looking at other true Fender Jazzmasters and found a used 60th anniversary I liked a lot for a decent price. Still...quite expensive. In the end I went to Guitar Center and tried out a few (American, Mexican and Chinese versions) and decided the J Mascis was going to be good enough to satiate me. The one I demoed played quite well. I'm not a huge fan of cream colored guitars but it is growing on me. Anyway, I bought the shit from Sweetwater and it will be here soon. Pretty sure I made the right choice in terms of quality vs. price-point. I love to buy American guitars when I can but I don't expect this to be my #1 (that's my SG!)

The one I picked was the second lightest due to a slightly nicer figuring on the fretboard. Will update with my thoughts once I have it in hand. This will be my second Squier (other is a Bass vi).

jjjimi84

Nice grab! I have heard nothing but great things about the mascis model, congratulations and look forward to reading a mini review.

matmosphere

I bought a classic player JM a few years back and kinda wish I had the Mascis instead.  I've played a few and the necks both had a great feel to them. Plus J is just such a badass.

They are great guitars, and I think it speaks volumes that he plays them so much himself. I don't remember seeing him with his old fender signature much if ever, but since the white one came out I never see him playing anything else.

Morgan