News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

1590A Content - Boutique Drive, Yellow Compressor, Harmonic Trem & More!

Started by dan.schumaker, September 13, 2019, 06:25:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dan.schumaker

Here is what I have been up to lately...

Robot Zookeeper - This is based on this seasons pedal du jour on TGP, the DRV 1981.  Basically its a RAT and a Klon buffer.  I added a clipping switch to go from the diode clipping to LED clipping.  It does sound really good, I can see what people are talking about.  I feel it might be a little bright with the diodes, but I like the crunch and growl I get with the LEDs.  I would have had this one done a few weeks ago, but I made a bonehead move of laying out the volume pot backwards   >:(  (And on that subject, I have been on a bad streak of laying out pots backwards on my board designs, I have never done that before, and I have 3-4 boards in my last two batches I have done that on!)
1965 Robot Zookeeper by Dan Schumaker, on Flickr

Amarillo Compressor - My favorite compressor that I have played through is the Diamond Compressor.  This is probably my third attempt to get it to fit in a 1590A, and I am glad I was able to make it work.  I played this one against my Lectric FX Zirconia Comp, and this one sounds just as good.  I am glad to be able to have this one to be able to add to my next 1590A pedalboard.
1963 Amarillo by Dan Schumaker, on Flickr

Hypnos Tremolo - I've been wanting to get a harmonic tremolo into a 1590A for a while now.  Looking around at different schematics, I found the Anharmonic tremolo on DIYstompboxes.  This is my working up of that circuit.  It has controls for Rate and Depth, as well as a frequency control and switch for just modulating the treble content or all of the signal.  The frequency control runs off of a 100k A dual gang pot.  There is also a jumper inside to go from Sine to Square wave.
1964 Hypnos by Dan Schumaker, on Flickr