News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Slambox in a 1590a zvex super hard on

Started by eniacmike, July 29, 2010, 11:26:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

eniacmike

I had this 1590a laying around and after building the slambox board up It looked like I could fit it in a 1590a.  I have never tried this before so it was alot of work measuring, and test fitting. I basically went one hole at a time and test fit as I went along. measuring over and over again.

slambox 1590a next to a hammond 1590B

I am not very happy with this build. The whole time I felt like I was in a kafka novel. Not to mention I'm blind in one eye so my depth perception is non existent. Things are dangerously close to shorting out. The 9v+ is maybe 2 mm away from the mosfet. Also the led leads with power and ground are dangerously close to the tip of the output jack.

I am going to get some hot glue and heat shrink and try to make this thing short proof. It was a funny idea at first but I am not really happy with the results. The assembly was such a pain in the butt that I don't even want to take it apart to paint it.

I think I will leave these 1590a's to malekko. Without pcb mounted jacks and switches it's just not worth it.

pauloman80

Dude, not as bad as you think!  I thought 1590B's were tough to work with when I did my Krankosaurus builds, about to do a few Slamboxes in 1590A's myself soon.  Kudos to you for giving it a go.