News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Sprout Tech Help

Started by themachinerages, January 05, 2012, 09:35:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

themachinerages

I just finished the Sprout build. The LED is working when I press the switch but the effect does not turn on.

Any advice on how to fix this would be appreciated. Here are some photos:

http://imgur.com/a/pgjde

I haven't made any substitutions for parts (I followed the BOM on the Sprout pdf), and I haven't made any troubleshooting steps. I'm very new to this so I am kind of lost on the whole situation.

Thank ya!

Haberdasher

Hey man can we get a clear shot of the component side too?  Also what transistors did you use?
Looking for a discontinued madbean board?  Check out my THREAD

FABBED PCB's FOR SALE:
Now carrying Matched JFETS

jkokura

These are the most common mistakes people make:

Incorrect Parts
Backwards Parts
Poor Soldering
Poor wiring.

You need to verify, then double check that all of those things are not your problem. Chances are one of them is. Go through your circuit and make sure your parts are correct, oriented properly, that you you have no cold solder joints or solder bridges and connections that shouldn't be made, and that your wiring is correct. From the looks of things, I would suspect one of those four issues, but the pictures don't really help me tell you which one.

An audio probe is the tool that can really help you at this point.

jacob
JMK Pedals - Custom Pedal Creations
JMK PCBs *New Website*
pedal company - youtube - facebook - Used Pedals

mgwhit

There are several spots on your board where it looks like you might have an accidental solder bridge to ground.  Use a multimeter to test for continuity to ground at every spot on the board where you shouldn't expect that.  Also, if you can post a backlit shot of the board, those can be amazingly helpful finding solder bridges on etched boards.  Good luck!

themachinerages