News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Buying Parts in Bulk-WHAT TO BUY?!?!?!?!?

Started by PaxWorks, October 28, 2010, 04:11:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PaxWorks

My Wife is letting me use $300.00 from our tax return to buy parts in bulk to build pedals. I have yet to prototype or build a pedal, so I'm a complete noob. I was Looking at Small Bears parts kits, wondering what I should get. I was hoping some of the more experienced builders could me help make a comprehensive list. What do ya think?

jkokura

Yikes what a huge question!

The most expensive parts are the PCBs and enclosures. Next is the switches and some ICs.

With your 300 are you looking for basic stock or are you wanting parts for specific pedals? I would need more than 300 for basic stock, but I could get 6 or so finished pedals out of 300 bucks.

Jacob
JMK Pedals - Custom Pedal Creations
JMK PCBs *New Website*
pedal company - youtube - facebook - Used Pedals

PaxWorks

I'm mainly looking to have a basic stock so I can build any time i want. If I have to order swtiches and enclosures thats okay, I just want to be able to begin prototyping.

gtr2

1776 EFFECTS STORE     
Contract PCB designer

eniacmike

I would buy bulk xicon metal film resistors in 200 qt. bags.

1M
2.2M
60 $ right there, fill in the rest of the values as needed per pedal you want to build, but that will cover most of the stuff you build. for months-a year.

If you don't care about metal film or building a bunch of pedals you can get a resistor assortment at radio shack for $10 of carbon comp resistors that will keep you going for months.

caps
get the topmay box cap set from small bear
thats $15
but you might want to stock up on the most popular values I would get bags of 100 for
100nF, 22nF, 47nF. (if you plan on doing alot of builds 10 each from the box cap set won't cover you) you also want to get 10 each of these values not included in the 1MF, 68nF, 56nF.