Author Topic: Nautilus -- FX loop  (Read 1322 times)

alanp

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3934
    • View Profile
Nautilus -- FX loop
« on: May 04, 2013, 11:41:52 PM »
Is it worth trying to shoehorn an effects loop into a Nautilus, where R4 goes? The Meatball has one there, with some component changes (a 10uF capacitor, from memory.)
"Hot water, good dentishtry and shoft lavatory paper."
- Cohen the Barbarian, on what is greatest in life
My OSHpark shared projects

midwayfair

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 6260
  • Jon P
    • View Profile
    • Midway Fair
Re: Nautilus -- FX loop
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2013, 10:04:23 AM »
Is it worth trying to shoehorn an effects loop into a Nautilus, where R4 goes? The Meatball has one there, with some component changes (a 10uF capacitor, from memory.)

You'll get a Q-tron+.

Therefore, I'd say "yes" as long as you factor in the extra jacks on the enclosure. :)
Myself's music & things I make: http://jonpattonmusic.com. My band: http://midwayfair.org. PCBs of my designs from: http://www.1776Effects.com (Bearhug Comp & Cardinal Harmonic Trem); http://www.jmkpcbs.com (Hamlet+ delay & Blue Warbler envelope vibe); Snow Day OD/Flabulanche: www.madbeanpedals.com

idy

  • Diode Destroyer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Nautilus -- FX loop
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2014, 06:23:47 PM »
I am experimenting with the same thing, an effects loop in the Naughty Fish. Its still R4...
Any thoughts about additional components and how to switch this? I have tried the breadboard it seems like its better to keep R4 at the output (send) side, and that its good to have some kind of "pad" or trimmer on the way in. Too much gain on the fuzz in the loop causes oscillation (whistling) and the pot helps with this. I have not had to add in/out capacitors. The MeatSphere has one after, on the return side (10uf).

Is the place for a buffer or anything? Why a cap on the way back but none on the way out?

thesameage

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 721
  • JR
    • View Profile
Re: Nautilus -- FX loop
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2014, 06:30:35 PM »
Is like to know.

idy

  • Diode Destroyer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Nautilus -- FX loop
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2014, 12:45:03 PM »
Just to clarify: the effects loop is a great idea and works well. It is a super handy mod in an envelope filter circuit. The question is what is the ideal impedance/level situation?

As to jacks, I am using a BB tall box so I can fit the four jacks on the "north" side of the box.

alanp

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 3934
    • View Profile
Re: Nautilus -- FX loop
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2014, 02:26:30 AM »
Gave up on the idea and built a Lovetone Meatball clone. Even with all the knobs, I found it more usable than the Nautilus, and the FX loop is stock.
"Hot water, good dentishtry and shoft lavatory paper."
- Cohen the Barbarian, on what is greatest in life
My OSHpark shared projects

Philthy

  • Diode Destroyer
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Nautilus -- FX loop
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2017, 08:30:46 PM »
Apologies for resurrecting this old thread, but I was wondering if anyone has since successfully implemented an effects loop in either a nuatilus or a naughty fish?

thesameage

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 721
  • JR
    • View Profile
Re: Nautilus -- FX loop
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2017, 09:00:55 PM »
I love my nautilus and would love an fx loop.