News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

GGG Brass Master Ge - Si Diode switch, will this work?

Started by DuctTapeRiot, September 26, 2011, 12:00:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DuctTapeRiot

I am building a GGG Maestro Brass Master kit (http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/projects/14-bass-effects/62-brass-master) for a friend, and I want to lift the diode clipping section onto a toggle switch to switch between Ge and Si diodes. I am planning on using 1N4001 for the Si and some NOS Ge "work-alike for 1N34a and others" from Small Bear for the Ge.  I am thinking of using a 4PDT toggle switch wired as below.  Will this work? Am I missing something obvious?  I am a bit of a noob still, especially in terms of going "off script". All help is appreciated.

EDIT: I realized a really obvious and stupid error in the first drawing, this is the corrected one

bigmufffuzzwizz

The way you have it setup looks correct. I imagine its gonna a pain to get the 1n4001's fat lead and a 1n34a through the same hole  :)
Owner and operator of Magic Pedals

DuctTapeRiot

Quote from: bigmufffuzzwizz on September 26, 2011, 01:22:04 AM
The way you have it setup looks correct. I imagine its gonna a pain to get the 1n4001's fat lead and a 1n34a through the same hole  :)

Thanks!  I will actually do it on a small chunk of vero, I just drew it like that to get it straight in my head.

jkokura

I will have to double check, but I don't think that will work...

I will get back to you.

Jacob
JMK Pedals - Custom Pedal Creations
JMK PCBs *New Website*
pedal company - youtube - facebook - Used Pedals

DuctTapeRiot

Quote from: jkokura on September 26, 2011, 02:15:40 AM
I will have to double check, but I don't think that will work...

I will get back to you.

Jacob

Thanks, I appreciate all help.  I feel like it "should" work, but I just cant quite get my head around it.

DuctTapeRiot