News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Merlin's Glassblower / total newbie

Started by dicey_reilly, January 12, 2024, 10:39:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dicey_reilly

I'm a total newbie with a soldering iron, and I'm trying to build Merlin's Glassblower booster from THCustom.  I managed to make some magic smoke on my first attempt at powering it up, so trying to figure out now what I've done wrong!

1) I've done some continuity tests with a multimeter, and getting a beep for everything that should be connected to ground from the circuit diagram.  But I'm also getting a beep between ground and BI or board input.  Is that correct, or does it indicate that I've shorted something out?  I'm also getting a beep from three of the 3PDT legs (if it were a smartphone keypad, they'd be numbers #1, #5 and #8)

2) Also, on the 3PDT board, it looked like a white LED was supplied with the kit, so I used a resistor leg to short across the RLED pads.  But I notice now that I have one 2.2k resistor left over from the kit - should I have used that in the RLED spot?

3) I've also put the multimeter across each capacitor on the board, and each one is giving me some kind of readout, so does that mean the capacitors are o.k., or is it still possible I've fried some of them?  And is it likely I've fried some other components, the transistors or the IC, for instance?  Is there a way I can check those with the multimeter?

For reference:
- for wiring the jacks, battery & power socket, I was following this: http://www.diy-musikding.de/content/001-Basics/battwire.pdf
- for populating the board, i followed these instructions: https://diy.thcustom.com/?wpdmdl=3881

Apologies for my newbie-ness, and I'll probably end up ordering a replacement kit from THCustom, but I'm also keen to learn from my stupid mistakes rather than repeat them.  Thank you for any help you can offer!

NorthCoast

QuoteApologies for my newbie-ness

Not at all!