News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Mojo Zygote Build Observation on Carbon Comps

Started by claytushaywood, February 26, 2012, 05:15:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

claytushaywood

Currently, I am sourcing parts for my first build with all "mojo" parts.  it will look awesome for sure.  But the sound has been argued to death on the internet.  Whatever.  In my search I found a cool article by RG Keen on Geofex about CC resistors in circuits and the measurable "resistor distortion" factor.  To get the most resistor distortion he says that you should use the smallest wattage that the circuit can handle.  I began thinking... can't pedals run off 1/8watt resistors?  yeh... I'm a newb so i dont know if the zygote can.  But then I thought are there any 1/8watt carbon comps... and they were hard to find.  But i found a site selling 1/8watt allen bradly carbon comps at a pretty reasonable price!  Before my questions let me say that I believe in mojo, always have and always will.  I can hear differences between coupling caps in amps.  I hated the sound of a measured silver mica versus a ceramic in my rangemaster.  yada yada yada

So a couple questions...
Can the zygote run off 1/8 watt resistors?
People always recommend using top notch carbon comps like allen bradleys- but I started thinking that maybe a top notch brand might not have as high a voltage coef.  and therefore not induce as much resistor distortion... what about this?  The site doesnt have the specs listed for the resistors, and it seems like there's definitely been more than one type of allen bradley carbon comp resistor produced over the years.

I know there's very newb stuff in here,  and this has been smacked all over the web.  but i thought this might be of interest to fellow mojo'ers out there.  and to non believers.