News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

New guy....

Started by MrSimple, October 10, 2013, 02:16:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MrSimple

Greetings!

I'm new to this board/forum. Not only am I new tothis forum, I am REALLY new to DIY pedals.

If you could recommend some great URL links, threads, posts, etc etc etc that would help get me started and using this board to my advantage I would be eternally grateful!!

Thanks for having me and glad to be here.

"If everything is possible, why do anything?" - J

das234

Go here and download the crash course on pedal building.  It will answer a lot of questions to get you started.

http://www.guitarpcb.com/apps/forums/topics/show/7156859-crash-course-in-pedal-building-

And the Madbean forum people are amazing.  They seem to take a personal interest in getting each others' projects working.  It's very cool.

selfdestroyer

MrSimple, Welcome to the addiction. I am looking forward to see you grow with the rest of us in this awesome hobby. Welcome to the board.

playpunk

Just Do It.

You will screw up, but fix it & learn.
"my legend grows" - playpunk

MrSimple

Thanks, folks!

My head is already swimming. So much info. I'm excited to get started. It seems I have stumbled across a few threads that focus on the ethics of the DIY community when it comes to profit and commercializing. I guess that was a pretty good place to start as well! I promise I won't violate that. I'm just a guitarist in search of tone and a need to know more about how things work and whether or not I can do it myself.

Thanks for the welcome. I have much reading to do!

jimilee

Before I soldered my first, I read tons of tech support threads and found the common solution, reflow the solder, there are great soldering videos on YouTube if you're new to soldering also.
Pedal building is like the opposite of sex.  All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.

icecycle66

das234

Quote from: icecycle66 on October 10, 2013, 04:42:56 PM