News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Eye of the Tiger

Started by nzCdog, September 26, 2016, 09:56:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Leevibe

I'm finding that I have a cycle that kind of follows the seasons. Summer is my low point for building because I have a lot of responsibilities related to work and family. Plus the weather is too nice to be inside at the bench.

I've had a bigger struggle this year. Part of it is that there has been a lot of death and sickness around me, and with it I've been trying to be as helpful as possible. I had to be with 3 kids back in December when they found out their mommy was never going to wake up again. I then had to officiate her funeral. I'm a pastor, but I'm a Kid's Pastor - as in elementary age kids. I never imagined I'd be doing funerals etc. Since that one, I've been asked to have some official role in 4 other funerals. It's been surreal. One was my grandpa's, but he was 103, so that one felt kind of good. The rest just sucked. My sister was diagnosed with cancer back in July. She's doing well, but that was a shock. Then, last month, my lifelong friend went down on his Harley. Pickup pulled out in front of him. He's alive but has brain injuries. I've been spending time visiting him in the hospital waiting to see if he will ever be himself again.

I came into the year with plans to have a really sweet 1590g project going. I've worked a lot on it, but I'm waiting on a piece of formed sheet metal that a friend is supposed to do for me. It's something I can't do myself, so I'm stuck. I could force the issue, but I've been kind of unmotivated anyway.