News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Sunking working but no bypass sound

Started by Jamiroking, September 05, 2011, 10:24:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jamiroking

I just finished wiring up my sunking with a buffer/true bypass toggle switch mod I'm trying out. It's my first time doing any sort of mod to the design and I'm having some problems. The effect works and sounds pretty good but I'm not getting any bypass signal, buffered or true bypass.

My Mod:
So the toggle works by running the input tip to the SPDT. In buffered mode, thie SPDT wires to the board input as usual. with everything else being as in the diagram. In True bypass mode, the SPDT runs to the center lug of the empty column on the 3PDT footswitch. When the footswitch is engaged, the bottom lug sends the signal to the board to run as normal. When disengaged, the top lug sends the signal straight to the output tip.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

The effect works in both toggle positions and the LED as well just as planned but as soon as I disengage the footswitch, I have no sound, no matter which position the toggle is in. I couldn't find any solder bridges or shorts and the fact that its only the bypass signal is really confusing me. The only thing I can think of is that the output tip might not be acting right since I have three wires all wiring there. Here's a pic of my PCB if that helps you guys. (btw I did have to trim down some of the excess size of the PCB to get it to fit in the enclosure)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

chip46

I haven't built my Sunking yet, but if it were me the first thing I would try would be removing the true bypass/buffer switch you added. Wire the switch up the stock way with the buffer and see what you get. If the pedal works as it should then you know it's a problem with your toggle switch wiring, if it still doesn't work then you know it's something else.

Jamiroking