News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Slambox build, help!

Started by MullisMan, November 01, 2010, 08:09:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MullisMan

Hi all,

I'm building a slambox, and I've got it all wired up, and I know I should have tested this on a breadboard before I got it all in an enclosure, but I figured since it was such a simple circuit I'd be fine.  I'm not a complete newbie, but when I engage this pedal, I get nothing.  I've checked all my solder points, everything looks good, switch wiring looks fine, and so does the jack wiring.  I double checked the BS170 pinout to make sure I had installed it in the sockets correctly, and everything looks good.

Signal comes through fine when the effect is bypassed but when I switch it on, it's gone.  I took a voltage reading on the transistor to see what I was getting, and this made me a little curious:

At the gate, i'm getting .8 volts, and then at the drain and source, basically nothing.  The meter won't settle on a value.  This is with the pot wide open.  Another question, I'm using the alpha 9mm pots, are the terminals on these the same as the 16 mm?  When looking at the back of the pot, from left to right it would be 3,2,1 correct?

I'm at a loss here....

gtr2

1776 EFFECTS STORE     
Contract PCB designer

irmcdermott

Quote from: gtr2 on November 01, 2010, 08:47:33 PM
Did you double check your DC jack wiring?

http://www.smallbearelec.com/Detail.bok?no=93

I was just getting ready to say that. Sounds like you aren't getting power to the board. Double check your wiring also.

Did you socket your transistor? If you didn't it might be fried.

jkokura

If you're not getting power to the Mosfet, you've got a problem between the power jack, and the transistor. Follow that back to the source.

Try this - plug your power in and use your mulitmeter to measure power in a few places:

At the jack

At the board