News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Delay-Verb (Zero Point Micro featuring two Cave Dwellers)

Started by seedlings, September 03, 2013, 01:10:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

seedlings

Hi all, first post.  This site is a fantastic resource.

I've been playing with PT2399 circuits for a few months now in search of a customizable reverb circuit for my pedal board. I had circuits breadboarded with two or three PT2399 chips in various configurations and feedback arrangements, until the circuit sounded nice. Unfortunately, my attempts at a layout were not pretty. Combine that with intermittent success at etching, and I decided to buy three madbean PCBs, which would cover the basics of the circuit on my breadboard, though not exactly.

The Madbean Zero Point Micro is a standard PT2399 delay with modulation. The Madbean Cave Dweller is a stripped down delay (with a slightly confusing two-pot feedback arrangement).

My pedal is the stock Zero Point Micro circuit with two series Cave Dwellers in the feedback loop. So the ZPM's delayed signal goes through both CD circuits before it's fed back. There are several capacitor and resistor changes, but, if you built them stock it would still work fine.  The signal leaves the ZPM board where lug 3 of the feedback pot would be connected.  That signal goes into one Cave Dweller, who's output goes to the second Cave Dweller, and then on to the feedback pot lug 3.

Something happened with windows media maker and the volume level of the mic'd amp signal is too quiet. Oh, well...

CHAD

jimilee

Hey!!! Welcome to the forum, what a great build. Gutshot?
Pedal building is like the opposite of sex.  All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.

spaceboss

Nice to see such a creative use of the Cave Dwellers. Really interesting and cool project.

seedlings