News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

First 1590A Build: Stomptown Baby Screamer w/ mods

Started by v00d00blues79, March 26, 2016, 05:12:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

v00d00blues79

I just wrapped up my first 1590A build last night, and I'm hooked!  It's a Stomptown Electronics Baby Screamer.  I used the values for the Keeley mod plus to tweak this little guy.  I love it!

I still suck at enclosure finishes, so this little guy is sitting in a unmarked enclosure.  I want to start doing more finishes on enclosures, but I have the hardest time coming up with ideas.

Anyway, here are the obligatory pics:

Thanks!

Andy

gorditas

Tidy! Aren't those Lumberg jacks the best? If they weren't so (relatively) expensive, I'd use them on everything.

v00d00blues79

Thanks!  This is my first time using them.  I did have a problem where the tip connection wasn't bent correctly on one of them and the Jack would go under instead of over.  A little retensioning and all was well.

Oh, and I did use a BB OPA2134 for the op amp as well.  I forgot to list that above.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Leevibe

wgc

Nice, love 1590s. And nothing wrong with a plain enclosure, though it is fun to develop a style that you dig too.
always the beautiful answer who asks a more beautiful question.
e.e. cummings

jimilee

Nice job. For the outside, don't overthink it, I usually use the first thing I see that looks cool / funny / neat and just use that.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Pedal building is like the opposite of sex.  All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.

Stomptown

v00d00blues79

Thanks guys!  Since I build for myself I typically go function over form.  I have a ton of baby boards built up right now.  This was just the first of many wee ones.  I do have to say that the board mounted pots and led made this one a snap to box up.  I'll know I really cut my teeth on 1590A's when I get to the rest that are all off board pots and LEDs.

Thanks,