Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

hot rod deluxe v peavey classic 30

Started by playpunk, December 22, 2013, 10:43:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

playpunk

"my legend grows" - playpunk

sp3k

It really depends on the pedals. I've never used a classic 30, but  had a hot rod for my main amp for years, it takes overdrives like a champ, but not all fuzzs sound go on it. It also doesn't like muffs. For muffs you need a really clean amp, and at band levels, the hot rod is not really clean, specially with humbuckers.

PimpMyTone

I think peavey amps in general take pedals better than fender .
Simon

Mike B.

I've played the Classic 30 and the 15" Delta Blues version. Both were workhorses and took pedals pretty nicely. Although, as sp3k mentioned, not every pedal sounds good with every amp - it might be worth taking a few of your regular pedals into your local guitar shop and hearing for yourself.

I have zero experience with the HRDx, but I played one in a guitar shop and wasn't fond of the drive channels. If you're using it as a clean pedal platform, have you considered the Blues Deluxe?

rullywowr

I've had both and currently have the blues deluxe (which is the same as the hot rod basically.).

The dirt channels on the hot rod is atrocious but it makes a great clean platform for pedals. Never liked the classic 30's sound. Kind of boxy, as to be expected with el84. This is just my opinion they are both good amps but I like the fender a bit more.

DIY Guitar Pedal PCB projects!

hoodoo

I gig with a classic 30, in a covers band, and it takes pedals great. I haven't played a hot rod deluxe, but much prefer the peavey with pedals than a  fender twin that i have. Classic 30 is way loud, and clean enough, in a band situation, and if you get one, the best thing you can do is change that awful blue marvel speaker out. I put a weber in mine and it made a world of difference. :)

jkokura

I've just never liked the format of either amp.