News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Stompboxes for harmonica players

Started by Gward, November 28, 2023, 02:15:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gward

Greetings to all of you, I'm new to this forum and new to diy effects as well. Hopefully this is the right place to post this, if not please direct me in the right direction.

My question is what do y'all recommend for those of us who are harmonica players and are interested in adding a pedalboard to our playing techniques? I've been checking out a few other sources on the subject and most recommend reverb and echo boxes. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I've got a Fender Blues Jr that I'm using currently and must admit that I'm not a professional but love blues and rock as well as some country and folk.

Really looking forward to hearing back from you guys, thanks!

jimilee

Chorus phaser wah delay reverb overdrive. I've heard an overdrive in harmonica while I was in Memphis, very cool.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Pedal building is like the opposite of sex.  All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.

Gward

Thanks jimilee, any particular diy kits that are maybe documented on this forum that come to mind out of those recommendations? Any other guys have their opinions?

jimilee

Quote from: Gward on November 29, 2023, 02:51:55 AM
Thanks jimilee, any particular diy kits that are maybe documented on this forum that come to mind out of those recommendations? Any other guys have their opinions?
BYOC and stew Mac are about the only places I know of in the US with kits.  I have experience with BYOC kits, but that's it.

Pedal building is like the opposite of sex.  All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.

Gward

Many thanks, I'll check those out, I'm familiar with StewMac.

mauman

Gward

Thx mauman, I was on their site yesterday. This is going to be a real challenge to learn the techniques and general know how but looking forward to it.

jimilee