News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Fatpants as a buffer? Also can it handle super hot pickups?

Started by thebigkevdogg, June 14, 2012, 10:28:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

thebigkevdogg

Hey everybody, please forgive my ignorance as I'm new to a lot of this. I'm thinking about building a fatpants as an always on kind of pedal at the start of my board - basically a buffer with some coloration, and i might twist the volume knob a bit when I'm about to take a solo. A few questions:

• Does it have a pretty good (high) input impedance and low output impedance?
  • Can it handle really hot pickups? I mostly play pedal steel guitar and my output is hot - for example I had to really play with the internal trims on my 2 knob keeley compressor to get it not to clip
  • Finally, how easy would it be to wire in a switch that would bypass the boost circuitry and turn it into just a simple buffer? What section of the circuit would I bypass?

Thanks so much!
Kevin

9Lives

I etched a fatpants from the old layout and it worked great with my duncan blackouts. A bit of a different type of "hot" but my pickups clip almost every circuit with/o major tweaking. The charge pump helps and if I'm not mistakin it even has an out put topower another pedal at 18v if you wanted. I recommend it. It's definitely a good beginer project with great results. My guess.. Yes it would work with your pickups. It's not really the same as a buffer though, but I get what your saying. Just put your compressor infront of it. Then fatpants.

thebigkevdogg

Thanks for the response, especially the pickup info. I guess the buffer questions come from this in the PDF:

QuoteThe 2012 version adds a JFET input buffer, a new Body switch for high-gain/full spectrum boost and a re-tooled output section.

I'm wondering if it's possible to somehow enable a mode where it just uses the input and output buffers but skips the boost circuitry?

9Lives