News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

HELP!!

Started by SlickNick, April 20, 2014, 12:18:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SlickNick

I bought a handmade pedal 4 years ago second hand. He said it was made by a guy here in TN.  It is a Mythos Overdrive pedal.  It should be noted that I'm new to the idea of making my own pedals and to guitar pedals in general as I'm just now really starting to pick up my electric guitar over my acoustic.  I was naive when I bought it and now I just recently purchased the Pigtronix Polysaturator and it's great. I don't know if I should sell it on here to someone that may be interested or scrap the parts for my own pedal making ventures.  It picks up radio frequencies which is why I'm questioning my purchase lol. It was also acting weird the other night but it worked fine just now on a different power adapter. One power adapter that I used the other night puts out 9.6 v at 200 ma and the one from today puts out 9 v at 1A. Doesn't seem like a catastrophic difference to me. I coulda used the one from the polysaturator the other night (18v) but I doubt it.  It looks like they used quality components though.  I did notice there's a stereo jack on one side and a normal mono jack on the other? Any help would be much appreciated.

midwayfair

Do you mean Mythic Overdrive? It's made by Comfort Player. He posts on BYOC. It's a Klone, and a very well made one.

DO NOT USE THE 18V ADAPTER WITH A KLONE. You will blow up a critical component if you do.

The power adapter has nothing to do with picking up radio signals. It also probably has nothing to do with the pedal construction, circuit, or really anything else. It just happens sometimes. It could be from any number of sources, and it could be your guitar and the pedal was just amplifying it, or amp producing it.

SlickNick