News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Discrete Op Amps

Started by woolie, February 14, 2017, 04:30:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

woolie

I've been building a lot of old school microphone preamps, compressors and EQs of late, and the one thing they seem to do a lot of is use discreet op-amps. I was wondering if anyone has tried these in pedal builds. They are much larger than IC op amps though.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

jholmes

I am also interested in thoughts on this, a good question. 

jholmes

Ok, I'll take a stab at this...  I would suspect that it is because pedals are inherently NOT designed to be transparent (since they provide an effect), unlike recording gear.  So, they would not receive the same benefits of upgrading to discrete op-amps.

I am not an engineer, but take a marijuana joint as a metaphor, with the joint being the circuitry, the outside air as sound/signal input, passing through the joint (circuitry), and then the THC+air mix as sound/signal output (LOL!).  In a pedal, you'd want a higher THC-to-air ratio in the output, or at least you'd want a way to control the ratio--i.e. you'd light the joint and inhale as much (or little) smoke as you like.  But for a recording gear situation you'd want an unlit joint so that THC-to-air ratio is as close to zero as possible.  Actually, the recording engineer might prefer to have no joint at all, but that is not possible since we must electronically store the recording.  Now, since mary jane is really stinky (in a nice way if you are lucky), even if the joint is unlit you'd still get some stank air in your mouth when you inhale through it.  Just like even if the gear is as transparent as presently technically possible it will still alter the signal in some way.  When we are using vintage recording gear like analog stuff, we should keep in mind the technical limitations that existed when it was designed/built and the resulting way in which it colors the signal.  Sometimes t