News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

in which the DIY spirit gets me in trouble ...

Started by midwayfair, July 02, 2013, 10:27:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

midwayfair

My desktop was making noise, so I took the computer apart trying to find out where it was coming from. Turned out to be the power supply ... Put things back together and now all I get is a notice that says "quick start guide for proper hardware installation".

Ten years of loyal service undone by some carelessness. :'(

billstein

That's strange, I've been building my own computers for the last 15 years and don't ever remember seeing that message. I would go back in and re-seat everything including your RAM sticks. Who knows what could have got knocked loose when you took it apart.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk 2

GermanCdn

Hey, at least it took tinkering from your end to generate the message.  Went to visit family for a week, unplugged the Windows 8 disaster that is my desktop while we were gone, got home yesterday to the blue screen of imminent death, followed by four hours of it fixing itself. 
The only known cure in the world for GAS is death.  That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

jimilee

Ouch has it been powered on for 10 years? sounds like the bios battery died at one time and now it doesn't remmber anything, or you just have a loose cable.
Pedal building is like the opposite of sex.  All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.

midwayfair

Quote from: jimilee on July 02, 2013, 11:04:46 PM
Ouch has it been powered on for 10 years?

Um, not continuously ...

Lexa thinks it's my video card.

jimilee

Quote from: midwayfair on July 02, 2013, 11:07:04 PM

Um, not continuously ...

I used to build and work computers about 10 years ago, but that all changed when I switched to mac.  Shouldn't be too hard to fix, she sounds like a smart woman.
Pedal building is like the opposite of sex.  All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.

aballen